Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship

Upcoming Deadlines

  • Feb. 1

Who qualifies?

  • Transfer

Minimum qualifications

  • Selection for the Phi Theta Kappa All-Missouri First Academic Team
  • Associate's degree from an accredited Missouri community college
  • Cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher at the community college
  • Enrollment at MU the semester immediately following graduation from community college
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident

Award amount

$3,000 per year

Application process

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International sends nomination materials to community colleges in mid-September each year. Nominations are submitted by the community colleges to PTK International in Jackson, Miss. Selection is made by PTK International and notifies Missouri Community College Association (MCCA) in mid-February. MCCA notifies the nominees of their selection to the All-Missouri First Academic Team and sends a list of the students to MU.


Renewable for one additional year. Students can receive the scholarship for a maximum of four regular (fall or spring) semesters, or until receiving a bachelor’s degree, whichever occurs first.

To remain eligible for the award, recipients must:

  • Remain continuously enrolled at MU for each regular (fall and spring) semester
  • Enroll for a minimum of 12 MU credit hours each semester (fall and spring)
  • Complete at least 24 graded credit hours each academic year
  • Maintain a cumulative MU grade point average of 3.25 or higher

Failure to meet the renewal criteria will cause the recipient to be ineligible to receive the scholarship for the following academic year. If at the end of that academic year the renewal criteria listed above are met, the scholarship will be reinstated for the next academic year. However, all regular semesters of enrollment are counted toward the four-semester limit of receiving the award.

Non-Missouri-resident students whose out-of-state fees are paid by another source are not eligible to receive out-of-state fee waivers through automatic scholarships.

Additional information

Not transferable among the campuses of the University of Missouri system.

Qualifying Community Colleges

  • Cottey College
  • Crowder College
  • East Central College
  • Jefferson College
  • Linn Tech
  • MCC- Blue River
  • MCC- Business & Technology
  • MCC- Longview
  • MCC- Maple Woods
  • MCC- Penn Valley
  • Metropolitan Community College
  • Mineral Area College
  • Missouri State- West Plains
  • Moberly Area Community College
  • North Central Missouri College
  • Ozarks Technical Community College
  • STLCC- Florissant Valley
  • STLCC- Forest Park
  • STLCC- Meramec
  • STLCC- Wildwood
  • St. Charles Community College
  • St. Louis Community College
  • State Fair Community College
  • Three Rivers Community College