International Merit Scholarship

Minimum qualifications

  • Effective for students enrolling for the first time in Fall 2019: Eligible composite ACT score will be 27 or higher (SAT of 1260 or higher). All other qualifications will remain unchanged. 
  • Composite ACT score of 27 or higher or an SAT score of 1280 or higher
  • Must meet English language requirements for admission to academic program.
  • Non-U.S. resident
  • Non-Missouri resident
  • Enrollment at MU directly after secondary-school graduation

Award amount

$5,000 per year for students receiving the International Merit Scholarship for the first time on or after Fall 2016.

$4,000 per year for students receiving the International Merit Scholarship for the first time prior to Fall 2016.

The International Merit Scholarship will be canceled if nonresident tuition is waived or paid by another source.

Application process

No application required. Students are automatically considered once admitted to MU.


Renewable for an additional three years. Students can receive the scholarship for a maximum of eight regular (fall or spring) semesters or until receiving a bachelor's degree, whichever occurs first.

To remain eligible for the award, recipients must:

  • Remain continuously enrolled at MU for each regular (fall and spring) semester
  • Enroll for a minimum of 12 MU credit hours each semester (fall and spring)
  • Complete at least 24 graded credit hours each academic year
  • Maintain a cumulative MU grade point average of 3.25 or higher

Dismissal from the University for any conduct reason will result in a loss of the scholarship award.  If renewal criteria (minimum completion of hours and cumulative GPA for the specific award) are met at the close of the academic year (spring semester), the student may regain eligibility.  However, the semester(s) during the suspension will be counted as part of the eight semester maximum award.

Failure to meet the renewal criteria will cause the recipient to be ineligible to receive the scholarship for the following academic year. If at the end of that academic year the renewal criteria listed above are met, the scholarship will be reinstated for the next academic year. However, all regular semesters of enrollment are counted toward the eight-semester limit of receiving the award.

Additional information

Not transferable among the campuses of the University of Missouri system.