Curators Scholars Award

Upcoming Deadlines

  • Automatic

Minimum qualifications

  • Effective for students enrolling for the first time in Fall 2019: Eligible composite ACT score will be 28-30 (SAT of 1300-1380); class rank qualification will be eliminated. All other qualifications will remain unchanged. 
  • Top 5 percent of high school graduating class
  • Composite ACT score of 28 or higher (or an SAT score of 1310 or higher for the new exam/1250 or higher pre-March 2016 examr)
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident
  • Missouri resident
  • Enrollment at MU the first semester after high school graduation

Non-ranking high schools

Rank will not be considered from high schools listed as non-ranking. For students who have attended a high school that does not rank its students, admission and scholarship eligibility will be based on grade point average in required core classes in combination with standardized test scores.

Award amount

$4,500 per year for students receiving the Curators Scholars Award for the first time on or after Fall 2014.

$3,500 per year for students receiving the Curators Scholars Award for the first time prior to Fall 2014.

Application process

No application required. Students are automatically considered once admitted to MU.


Renewable for an additional three years. Students can receive the scholarship for a maximum of eight regular (fall or spring) semesters, or until receiving a bachelor’s degree, whichever occurs first.

To remain eligible for the award, recipients must:

  • Remain continuously enrolled at MU for each regular (fall and spring) semester
  • Enroll for a minimum of 12 MU credit hours each semester (fall and spring)
  • Complete at least 24 graded credit hours each academic year
  • Maintain a cumulative MU grade point average of 3.25 or higher

Dismissal from the University for any conduct reason will result in a loss of the scholarship award.  If renewal criteria (minimum completion of hours and cumulative GPA for the specific award) are met at the close of the academic year (spring semester), the student may regain eligibility.  However, the semester(s) during the suspension will be counted as part of the eight semester maximum award.

Failure to meet the renewal criteria will cause the recipient to be ineligible to receive the scholarship for the following academic year. If at the end of that academic year the renewal criteria listed above are met, the scholarship will be reinstated for the next academic year. However, all regular semesters of enrollment are counted toward the eight-semester limit of receiving the award.

Additional information

Not transferable among the campuses of the University of Missouri system.