Border State Scholars

Upcoming Deadlines

  • Automatic

Minimum qualifications

  • Effective for students enrolling for the first time in Fall 2019: Eligible composite ACT score will be 25-29 (SAT of 1200-1350); class rank qualification will be eliminated. All other qualifications will remain unchanged. 
  • Reside in one of the eight states that border Missouri
    • Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Tennessee
  • Enroll at MU the first semester after high school
  • Composite ACT score of 25 or higher or an SAT score of 1200 or higher
  • U.S. citizen or permanent resident

Award amount

$2500 per year

Combination of aid may not exceed total amount of nonresident tuition.

Application process

No application required. Students are automatically considered once admitted to MU.


Renewable for an additional three years. Students can receive the scholarship for a maximum of eight regular (fall or spring) semesters, or until receiving a bachelor’s degree, whichever occurs first.

To remain eligible for the award, recipients must:

  • Remain continuously enrolled at MU for each regular (fall and spring) semester
  • Enroll for a minimum of 12 MU credit hours each semester (fall and spring)
  • Complete at least 24 graded credit hours each academic year
  • Maintain a cumulative MU grade point average of 2.5 or higher

Dismissal from the University for any conduct reason will result in a loss of the scholarship award.  If renewal criteria (minimum completion of hours and cumulative GPA for the specific award) are met at the close of the academic year (spring semester), the student may regain eligibility.  However, the semester(s) during the suspension will be counted as part of the eight semester maximum award.

Failure to meet the renewal criteria will cause the recipient to be ineligible to receive the scholarship for the following academic year. If at the end of that academic year the renewal criteria listed above are met, the scholarship will be reinstated for the next academic year. However, all regular semesters of enrollment are counted toward the eight-semester limit of receiving the award.

Additional information

Students who are granted residency will lose eligibility for this award.